click to enable zoom
We didn't find any results
open map
View Roadmap Satellite Hybrid Terrain My Location Fullscreen Prev Next

What is Delhi-Mumbai Expressway- Everything you need to know?

The Delhi-Mumbai Expressway is a proposed high-speed, high-capacity expressway that will connect India’s National Capital Delhi and India’s financial capital Mumbai. The Delhi-Mumbai expressway is near completion and will be the longest Expressway of India.

The Delhi–Mumbai Expressway is a 1,350 km long, 8-lane wide under-construction expressway. The expressway will span over a length of approximately 1,350 km and will be designed to be an 8-lane, access-controlled expressway with provisions for future expansion to 12 lanes. It is intended to reduce the travel time between the two cities from the current duration of over 21 hours to around 12 hours. The expressway is currently under construction and is expected to be built through a combination of public funding and private investment.

what is delhi mumbai expressway

The project is part of the Indian government’s plan to improve connectivity between major cities in India and reduce travel times. The expressway is also expected to promote economic development along the route by making it easier for people to travel for business and leisure.

This new greenfield expressway was approved for construction under the Bharatmala Pariyojana program in 2017, and Prime Minister Narendra Modi laid its foundation stone on March 9, 2019.

What is the Route map of Delhi Mumbai Expressway?

The Delhi-Mumbai Expressway project will pass through five States, including Maharashtra, and will connect distant and erstwhile areas of the States. Delhi-Mumbai Expressway will start from DND flyway in Delhi and go up to (Dausa) Jaipur to Sawai Madhopur (Rajasthan) to Ratlam (Madhya Pradesh) and Vadodara (Gujarat) to last terminal Jawaharlal Nehru Port Terminal(JNPT) in Maharashtra. The new alignment of the 12-lane expressway will reduce the travel distance by 150 km in between Delhi and Mumbai.

Read – What is Delhi Mumbai Industrial Corridor (DMIC)?

From the total distance of 1350 km of the Delhi-Mumbai expressway, about 380 km of road will be developed in Rajasthan, 120 km in Gujarat, 300 km in Madhya Pradesh, and 370 km in Maharashtra. In Haryana, the proposed expressway will commence at NH-919 from Bhirawati village in Sohna.

The Sohna-Dausa section of Delhi Mumbai Expressway will reduce travel time between Delhi to Jaipur from 5 hr to 3 hr.

What is the Map of Delhi Mumbai Expressway?

The expressway with closed tolling will connect 5 states Haryana (80 km), Rajasthan (380 km), Madhya Pradesh (370 km), Gujarat (300 km) and Maharashtra (120 km). New industrial townships and Smart Cities have been planned along its route.

Route map of Delhi Mumbai expressway

From which Major Cities Delhi Mumbai Expressway is Passing?

The expressway will run through the states of Haryana, Rajasthan, and Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra and will pass through several major cities and towns along the way.

The expressway will begin from Gurgaon and pass through Jaipur and Sawai Madhopur in Rajasthan, Ratlam in Madhya Pradesh, and Vadodara in Gujarat.

Other major cities through which Delhi-Mumbai Expressway will pass are 

  • Kota
  • Indore
  • Jaipur
  • Bhopal
  • Vadodara
  • Surat
  • Faridabad
  • Neemuch
  • Dahod
  • Godhra. 
  • Surat
  • Bharuch
  • Valsad
  • Virar 
buy property near delhi mumbai expressway

What will be the Benefits of Delhi Mumbai Expressway?

  1. To address vehicular pollution concerns, the GOI is planning to build an e-highway on the Delhi-Mumbai Expressway that will allow commercial vehicles like trucks and buses to move at a speed of 120 kmph.
  2. The e-highway is also expected to reduce logistics costs in the country by 70%.
  3. Delhi Mumbai expressway will cover the Delhi Mumbai distance by passing through five states and several greenfield sites, which will be developed into major Industrial and warehousing hubs.
  4. The newly inaugurated stretch from Sohna to Dausa is likely to reduce the distance from Gurgaon to Jaipur to only Three hours.
  5. The expressway will reduce the travel time between Delhi and Mumbai from nearly 24 hours to 12 hours.

buy industrial plot/land near delhi mumbai expressway

Delhi Mumbai Expressway construction phases

With a total length of 1,350 kilometers across five states, the Delhi-Mumbai highway road will be developed in four sections with a total of 52 construction packages. The approximate length of each package is eight km to 46 km.

  • DND-Faridabad-KMP section of 59 km (Number of Packages: 03 – 1 in Delhi and 2 in Haryana)
  • Sohna-KMP-Vadodara section of 844 km (Number of Packages: 31 – 3 in Haryana, 13 in Rajasthan, 9 in MP and 6 in Gujarat)
  • Vadodara-Virar section of 354 km (Number of Packages: 13 – 10 in Gujarat and 3 in Maharashtra)
  • Virar-JNPT section of 92 km (Number of Packages: 05 – 05 in Maharashtra)
Add Property

Compare Listings